logo_425
900 South Pine Street
Spartanburg, SC 29302
864.327.4900
First Steps

“The Spartanburg Academic Movement (SAM) is a deep believer in the work of Quality Counts.
It is the launch pad for the transformation SAM is pursuing: all children in Spartanburg County educated to the level of their full potential … cradle to career.”

John C. Stockwell, PhD, Executive Director, Spartanburg Academic Movement

Advisory Council

Rep. Rita Allison
SC House of Representatives

RitaAllison@schouse.gov
864.446.5195

Tammy C. Devine
QS/1 Data Systems

tdevine@qs1.com
864.253.8600 ext. 7351

Linda Hutchinson, PhD
Early Childhood Consultant

lhutchinsn@aol.com
704.995.2268

Kim Land
Johnson College of Business and Economics

kland@uscupstate.edu
864.503.7354

Leslie Latimer
Greenville County First Steps

leslie@greenvillefirststeps.org
864.239.3720

Kim McAbee
Spartanburg School District 4

KMcAbee@spartanburg4.org
864.476.3174

Jamie Moon
Institute for Child Success

jmoon@instituteforchildsuccess.org
864.382.3330

John Stockwell, PhD
Spartanburg Academic Movement

StockwellJohnC@gmail.com
864.415.7471

Nur Tanyel, PhD
USC Upstate School of Education

ntanyel@uscupstate.edu
864.503.5659

Ida Thompson
Spartanburg Academic Movement

ithompson@learnwithsam.org
864.580.2673

Rochelle Williams
Consultant/Facilitator

rochelle@rochellewilliams.com
864.912.3338

Heather Witt
United Way of the Piedmont

hwitt@uwpiedmont.org
864.582.7556

Benita Yowe
Spartanburg Community College

yoweb@sccsc.edu
864.569.9896